Back to the web ringBack to the web ring

Tangerine Dream

The Past Hundred Moons

Dream Mixes Three

- Studio, released May 2001 -


CD release Germany 2001
Design: Edgar Froese

Promo-CD release Germany 2001

Download release Germany 2019
Artwork: Moonpop Music Design


1.Prime Time [2001 remix]10:2110:18
2.Astrophobia (Red Supernova Mix) [2000 remix]8:258:25
3.Stereolight 8:088:08
4.Diamonds And Dust [2000 remix]9:059:04
5.Blue Spears 8:44-
6.Meng Tian (Smart Machine Remix) [2000 remix]7:597:59
7.Girl On The Stairs [2000 remix]6:546:54
8.The Spirit Of The Czar [2000 remix]7:327:31
9.The Comfort Zone [2001 remix]8:508:49
10.Republic 87 [2001 remix]-5:42
11.At Tesla's Tavern [2001 remix]-6:05
12.Distant Scanning [2001 remix]-6:07
13.Black Spears [2001 remix]-6:51
Total running time75:5891:53


Recording date2000 - 2001
Recording engineer(s)Jerome Froese
Composer(s)Edgar Froese, Chris Franke, Peter Baumann, Johannes Schmoelling, Jerome Froese
Musician(s)Edgar Froese, Jerome Froese
Producer(s)Jerome Froese


The Past Hundred Moons had been announced for the last quarter of 2000 but was postponed several times until it was released on May 22nd, 2001.


It is the third album of the 'Dream Mixes' series that so far includes the following releases:


Besides one new track the album includes eight remixes of Tangerine Dream compositions that originally had been released between 1977 and 1999. Six of these remixes have been made available prior to the release of The Past Hundred Moons in a limited series of three 12" vinyl pre-release singles in late 2000: Meng Tian, Stereolight and Astrophobia.


TDI describes The Past Hundred Moons as "a more versatile mixture than ever, featuring not only recent tunes but also all-time classics from the earlier years, plus the one or other surprise, all of them being given the 'club treatment'. Instead of merely adding new rhythms or layers, the original compositions were used as a starting point for creativity, there by creating something new rather than a variation on the old."


While Astrophobia and Meng Tian are remixes of the compositions of the same name -- released on Mars Polaris and Great Wall Of China (both 1999) -- the six other tracks are reworks of vintage material from the late seventies and early eighties, though neither the original compositions are mentioned in the booklet, nor the original composers -- Peter Baumann, Chris Franke and Johannes Schmoelling besides Edgar Froese -- are credited.


The track Prime Time is based upon the theme from Silver Scale, that was released in the boxed set Tangents (1994) for the first time but was originally recorded about 1980/81. Stereolight is a remix of the compositions Desert Dream and Monolight (hence the name Stereolight) from the live album Encore (1977). Diamonds And Dust is a remix of the composition Diamond Diary from the soundtrack album Thief (1981).


Blue Spears does not include some previously released material but is similar to the previously unreleased material from Tangents. Girl On The Stairs is a retitled remix of the 1982 composition Das Mädchen auf der Treppe and very similar to the version from Limited World Tour Edition 1997 (1997).


The last two tracks are remixed excerpts of live material from the early eighties: The origin of The Spirit Of The Czar is the title track from the live album Poland (1984), while The Comfort Zone is remixed from Logos Red from the album Logos Live (1982).


A promotional release of The Past Hundred Moons was released prior to the official release in a white paper sleeve instead of the digipack. There was a promotional postcard available from the TDI website, too.


DM III - 2001 / Ultimate Edition


In September 2019, Jerome Froese released a new version of this album, now titled DM III - 2001 / Ultimate Edition as download only, thus no physical media of this release do exist so far. The digital cover artwork has been derived from the original one but does not show any artist name, though the download was released under the moniker 'Jerome Froese & Tangerine Dream'.


This release includes all tracks of the original version, with the exception of Blue Spears (which was the only track provided by Edgar Froese for the original album) that now appears as Black Spears in a new, much shorter remixed version. To make the re-release an "Ultimate Edition", Jerome Froese decided to add three more previously unreleased tracks which apparently were originally intended for the Dream Mixes III project. Republic 87 is a remix of the first section of Livemiles, Part Two (The West-Berlin Concert) (a.k.a. Caspian Sea) from Livemiles (1988), At Tesla's Tavern is a remix of At Darwin's Motel from Goblins Club (1996), and Distant Scanning is a remix of Remote Viewing from Exit (1981). All tracks have been remastered in 2019 from the original files.


2001: TDI/EFA
CD [a]: 63031-2; digipack
Promo-CD [a]: 63031-2; white paper sleeve with sticker featuring track listing and label information
2019: Moonpop/Bandcamp
Download [b]: moon bcdl 003; titled DM III - 2001 / Ultimate Edition; complete album in several lossless or lossy digital formats
Copyright/Disclaimer   © 2001-2021 by Michael Berling. Last Update: 2021-09-19 21:31