Back to the web ringBack to the web ring

Tangerine Dream

DM 4

- Studio, released November 2003 -


CD release Germany 2003
Photo: Monique Froese
Design: Edgar Froese

Download release Germany 2020
Artwork: Moonpop Music Design


1.Losing The Perspective 1:121:12
2.World Of The Day 5:295:30
3.Perplex Parts 8:068:06
4.Cosmic Merriment 9:059:06
5.Messenger [2003 remix]7:097:09
6.Rebound 03 8:568:57
7.Floating Higher [2003 remix]5:485:49
8.From Kiev With Love [2003 remix]6:516:52
9.Meta Morph Magic [2003 remix]7:447:45
10.The Metropolitan Sphere 9:129:11
11.Frenetic -4:34
12.A Nautical Night -6:26
13.Jupiter Space Doors [2005 re-recording]-10:10
14.Ice Angel -4:48
15.Saltwater Heaven -6:50
16.Paranormal Skills -7:53
17.Rapid Eye Movement -4:18
18.Messenger (Alternative Mix) [2003 alternative remix]-6:10
Total running time69:32120:46


Recording date2003
Recording site(s)Berlin & Vienna
Composer(s)Edgar Froese, Chris Franke, Peter Baumann, Steve Jolliffe, Johannes Schmoelling, Jerome Froese
Musician(s)Edgar Froese, Jerome Froese
Producer(s)Edgar Froese, Jerome Froese


Simply titled DM 4, this is the fourth album of the 'Dream Mixes' series that so far includes the following releases:


The front cover does not mention Tangerine Dream, but at least some copies have a silver/blue coloured sticker saying "Tangerine Dream Seven Time Grammy Nominees". For the first time since several years the artwork features a photography by Monique Froese and is slightly reminiscent of the original artwork for the album Tangram.


Besides three new compositions this album features remixes of classic Tangerine Dream compositions that reach back to 1972, including material from Zeit (1972), Ricochet (1975), Cyclone (1978), Force Majeure (1979), Tangram (1980), Exit (1981) and Risky Business (1984). Though these original tracks have been composed and performed by several TD line-ups, the respective members are not credited. All ten tracks are merged into one 70 minute long composition, very similar to TD's live performances. Albums ordered from the TDI internet shop were shipped with the exclusive DM 4 Bonus CD featuring two tracks unavailable elsewhere.


DM IV - 2003 / Ultimate Edition


In June 2020, Jerome Froese released a new version of this album, now titled DM IV - 2003 / Ultimate Edition as download only, thus no physical media of this release do exist so far. The digital cover artwork has been derived from that from The Past Hundred Moons but does not show any artist name, though the download was released under the moniker 'Jerome Froese & Tangerine Dream'.


This release includes all tracks of the original version, including those from the additional DM 4 Bonus CD. To make the re-release an "Ultimate Edition", Jerome Froese decided to add six more bonus tracks which are more or less connected to the Dream Mixes IV project.


Three of them have been previously released: Jupiter Space Doors, a remix of the classic TD composition Phaedra, on Space Flight Orange (2005), Paranormal Skills on DM 2.1 (2007) and Rapid Eye Movement on Rapid Eye Movement (2006). The remaining three tracks, Ice Angel, Saltwater Heaven and an alternative version of Messenger have been previously unreleased. All tracks have been remastered in 2020 from the original files.


2003: TDI
CD [a]: TDI/Indigo CD034
2020: Moonpop/Bandcamp
Download [b]: moon bcdl 004; titled DM IV - 2003 / Ultimate Edition; complete album in several lossless or lossy digital formats
Copyright/Disclaimer   © 2001-2021 by Michael Berling. Last Update: 2021-09-19 21:31