Back to the web ringBack to the web ring

Great Wall Of China

Tangerine Dream
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

- Soundtrack, released December 1999 -


CD release Germany 1999
Design: Edgar Froese

CD release Germany 2000
Design: Edgar Froese

Download release 2007
Artwork: Edgar Froese

HQCD release Japan 2009 with obi

CD release USA 2010
Design: Edgar Froese


1.Meng Tian 5:13-
2.Year Of The Monkey -6:59
3.Summer In Shauxi 3:584:00
4.The South Gate Knights 5:596:01
5.Silence The Barking Monk 7:237:25
6.Zhu Zhanji 6:146:16
7.Stranded Without Shade 4:324:34
8.No More Candles Burning 4:124:15
9.Lights Of Beijing 5:445:46
10.Snow On Dragon's Peak 4:434:45
11.Cradle Of Prodigies 5:22-
12.Cloud Face -8:30
13.Tiger Forest 4:244:24
Total running time57:4462:55
1.Lights Of Bejing 5:46
2.No More Candles Burning 4:15
3.Silence The Barking Monk 7:25
4.Snow On Dragon's Peak 4:45
5.Stranded Without Shade 4:34
6.Summer In Shauxi 4:00
7.Cloud Face [Excerpt]7:02
8.The South Gate Knights 6:01
9.Tiger Forest 4:24
10.Year Of The Monkey 6:59
11.Zhu Zhanji 6:16
Total running time61:27


Recording date1999
Recording site(s)Eastgate Studios (Vienna)
Recording engineer(s)Bob Parker
Composer(s)Edgar Froese, Jerome Froese
Musician(s)Edgar Froese, Jerome Froese
Producer(s)Edgar Froese


In December 1999 TD released the soundtrack album for a Chinese documentary titled Great Wall Of China, though it is unknown whether this movie was ever officially released.


A pre-release version of this CD was available via the TDI website: Collectors, who ordered the so-called "Millennium Booster" from TDI, got a package including the pre-release of Great Wall Of China, the second limited edition of The Keep, the extraordinary rare Sony Center Topping Out Ceremony Score CD-5 and an autographed promotional poster. The regular CD was released in early 2000 and featured a slightly different cover artwork.




In January 2007 this release became available as MP3 download at the Tangerine Dream Download Shop, slightly renamed to The Great Wall Of China (this title would be used for all subsequent re-releases of this album). On this download re-release the only two of the original tracks that were composed by Jerome Froese have been replaced by new compositions by Edgar Froese.


In June 2009 the album was re-released in Japan as part of a series of HiQualityCDs with mini LP paper sleeves. It has the same front artwork as the download release but contains the original tracks. The track listing as printed on the back side is completely different and represents the tracks of the 2010 US release (see below), additionally misspelling The South Gate Knights as The Fourth Gate Knights.


In June 2010 the album was re-released in the USA with a different track order. This CD release for the first time contains the two new tracks, previously available as download only, though Cloud Face has apparently been shortened by about one and a half minute.


1999: TDI/EFA
CD [a]: 63022-2
2000: TDI/EFA
CD [a]: 63022-2
2007: Eastgate
Download [b]: complete release or individual tracks as MP3
2009: WHD Entertainment
HQCD [a]: IECP-10180; cardboard sleeve, obi; limited edition
Promo-HQCD [a]: IECP-10180; same as regular release, but with additional red promo sticker
2010: Purple Pyramid/Cleopatra
CD [c]: CLP 9142-2
Copyright/Disclaimer   © 2001-2021 by Michael Berling. Last Update: 2021-09-19 21:31