Back to the web ringBack to the web ring

Tangerine Dream

Quantum Key

- Studio, released November 2015 -


Announced CD release (unreleased)
Artwork: Bianca Froese-Acquaye

CD release Germany 2015
Artwork: Bianca Froese-Acquaye
Note: Part of the printing is almost invisible on this scan due to its reflective nature.

Download release 2015
Artwork: Bianca Froese-Acquaye

LP release 2016
Artwork: Bianca Froese-Acquaye


1.Genesis Of Precious Thoughts 9:13
2.Electron Bonfire 5:05
3.Drowning In Universes 11:07
4.Mirage Of Reality 7:25
Total running time32:50


Recording date2015
Recording site(s)Eastgate Studios (Vienna), Townend Studio (Berlin)
Composer(s)Edgar Froese, Thorsten Quaeschning, Ulrich Schnauss
Musician(s)Edgar Froese, Thorsten Quaeschning, Ulrich Schnauss, Hoshiko Yamane
Producer(s)Bianca Froese-Acquaye


"In honour of our musical hero Edgar Froese
Thank you, Edgar, for making this project possible.
You will always be with us.


Quantum Key is the ninth release of the so-called 'cupdisc' series and the first album with music recorded after Edgar Froese had passed away in January 2015. Nevertheless the first three of the four tracks on this release are credited to Edgar Froese besides Thorsten Quaeschning and Ulrich Schnauss, and Edgar Froese is listed as performer as well. Hence it can be assumed that the new TD line-up was already working on these compositions when he unexpectedly died, or, at least, that these tracks are based on musical sketches he has left behind. While not credited as composer, Hoshiko Yamane performs violin on all four tracks.


The first composition, Genesis Of Precious Thoughts is mentioned as "Taken from the forthcoming album Quantum Gate", while the remaining tracks are exclusive for this cupdisc.


Announcements of this album prior to release featured a cover slightly different from the one finally used (see above).


The Eastgate Music Shop about the CD release"The continuation of the Quantum Years...
Quantum Key will be the vanguard of the coming Quantum Gate album which Thorsten, Ulrich and Hoshiko are currently working on.
Edgar Froese, the head and founder of Tangerine Dream, had the wonderful idea of translating the current knowledge of the quantum physics -- which he was very much interested in -- into sound and already started this project before his sad death in January 2015. The cupdisc Mala Kunia was the first music out of 'The Quantum Years' series which was published in November 2014 on the occasion of the MMW Festival concert in Melbourne.
It was a great fortune that Edgar still had the chance to discuss his vision with the remaining band members and that Bianca, Edgar's wife, decided to continue with Tangerine Dream. She knew that Thorsten, Ulrich and Hoshiko could face this huge challenge with their beautiful talents. At the same time this task would be a unique chance for the music coming into life. So the band continued developing these musical ideas after Edgar's sudden 'change of his cosmic address' and you will have the chance now to listen to some wonderful tracks. In honour of Edgar!"


A short time after its CD release this album became available as MP3 download at the Tangerine Dream Download Shop as well.


In November 2016 the album was released on vinyl.


2015: Eastgate
CD: eastgate 075 CD; black/blue/white disc; matrix code: eastgate 075; cardboard sleeve; no order number on disc or sleeve
Download: complete release or individual tracks as MP3
2016: Invisible Hands
LP: IH 69
Quantum Key was also released as part of the set Quantum Gate/Quantum Key.

Copyright/Disclaimer   © 2001-2021 by Michael Berling. Last Update: 2021-09-19 21:31