Back to the web ringBack to the web ring

Tangerine Dream

Recurring Dreams

- Studio, released December 2019 -


CD release Germany 2019
Artwork: Edgar Froese
Layout: Bianca Froese-Acquaye

Download release Germany 2019
Artwork: Edgar Froese
Layout: Bianca Froese-Acquaye

CD release UK 2020
Artwork: Edgar Froese
Layout: Bianca Froese-Acquaye


1.Sequent C' 2019 [2019 re-recording]2:27
2.Monolight (Yellow Part) 2019 [2019 re-recording]7:42
3.Tangram 2019 (Excerpt) [2019 re-recording]5:46
4.Horizon 2019 Part 1 [2019 re-recording of Section 2]6:37
5.Horizon 2019 Part 2 [2019 re-recording of Section 4]7:10
6.Phaedra 2014 [2014 re-recording]8:17
7.Los Santos City Map [Alternative version]7:27
8.The Claymore Mine/Stalking [2019 re-recording]5:41
9.Yellowstone Park 2019 [2019 re-recording]6:37
10.Stratosfear 2019 [2019 re-recording]11:35
11.Der Mond ist aufgegangen Part 1 & 2 9:08
Total running time78:27


Recording date2014 - 2019
Composer(s)Edgar Froese, Chris Franke, Peter Baumann, Johannes Schmoelling, Thorsten Quaeschning, Johann Peter Abraham Schulz
Musician(s)Edgar Froese, Thorsten Quaeschning, Ulrich Schnauss, Hoshiko Yamane


"Dedicated to the founder of Tangerine Dream: Edgar Froese."


Recurring Dreams is (with two exceptions) a collection of new interpretations of classic TD material from the 70s and 80s. Several of these reworkings had been part of Tangerine Dream's live concerts thoughout 2016 to 2018 and are now released as studio versions.


Unlike Quantum Gate (2017), the most recent regular studio album of the current line-up consisting of Thorsten Quaeschning, Ulrich Schnauss and Hoshiko Yamane, this one is not really a team effort. Instead, most of the tracks have been individually performed, arranged and produced by a single band member in 2019 and, hence, have 2019 appended to their original titles:


Sequent C' 2019 (originally from Phaedra, 1974) has been re-arranged by Hoshiko Yamane and, naturally, is based upon her violin playing which replaces the flute sounds originally performed by Peter Baumann.


Monolight (Yellow Part) 2019 (from Encore, 1977), Horizon 2019 Part 1 (from Poland, 1984) and Yellowstone Park 2019 (from Le Parc, 1985) have been arranged, performed and produced by Ulrich Schnauss.


Stratosfear 2019 (from Stratosfear, 1976), Tangram Set One 2019 (from Tangram, 1980), Horizon 2019 Part 2 (from Poland, 1984), The Claymore Mine/Stalking 2019 (from The Park Is Mine, 1985/1991) have been arranged, performed and produced by Thorsten Quaeschning. Notably, the last-mentioned track is a remake Thorsten Quaeschning did for the soundtrack of the movie Lords Of Chaos.


Los Santos City Map is an alternative version of Beyond The Weakest Point (from The Cinematic Score GTA 5, 2013), again by Thorsten Quaeschning.


Phaedra 2014 (originally from Phaedra, 1974) is the only track performed and produced by Edgar Froese back in 2014. This version had been performed live on occasion of the 2014 concerts, and the studio recording apparently was found in his archives after his death, ready to be released.


Der Mond ist aufgegangen (German for The moon has risen) finally is an instrumental arrangement of a composition by Johann Abraham Peter Schulz (1790) which was written as setting of the namesake lullaby by Matthias Claudius (1779). The version by Tangerine Dream consists of two consecutive parts, the first one performed, arranged and produced by Thorsten Quaeschning, the second one by Ulrich Schnauss (though Thorsten Quaeschning plays piano on that part, too).


The Recurring Dreams Zoom-O-Graphic

The front cover artwork by Bianca Froese-Acquaye incorporates three layered and partially rotated versions of the Zoom-O-Graphic By The Length Of A Day by Edgar Froese.


The Eastgate Music Shop about the CD release"Tangerine Dream?s new compilation Recurring Dreams contains music of a magical combination of old and new. Well-known and very popular TD tracks appear in new and exciting sound dresses, truly a joy for your urban ears. But listen yourself to the fresh arrangements by the current line-up! The track Phaedra 2014 was still reworked by Edgar Froese, the master himself. It seems as if the timelessnes of Tangerine Dream's music has been revoked by the presence of the future."


A short time after its CD release this album became available as MP3 download at the Tangerine Dream Download Shop as well. It was then released by Kscope in the UK on CD in January 2020 and on double vinyl in February 2020.


2019: Eastgate
CD: eastgate 087 CD; multi-coloured disc; cardboard sleeve; no order number on disc or sleeve
Download: complete release or individual tracks as MP3
2020: Kscope
CD: KSCOPE665; digipack with sticker; multi-coloured disc
2LP: KSCOPE1051; gatefold cover; black vinyl; multi-coloured labels
Copyright/Disclaimer   © 2001-2021 by Michael Berling. Last Update: 2021-09-19 21:31