Back to the web ringBack to the web ring

Edgar W. Froese

Ambient Highway Vol. 1

- Compilation/Studio, released November 2003 -


CD release Germany 2003
Design: Edgar Froese
Layout: Patrick Schürfeld

Download release 2007
Artwork: Edgar Froese


1.Sahara Child 5:42
2.Walkabout Abora [1995 remix]7:15
3.Santa Elena Marisal 7:42
4.Carneol 4:49
5.Bobcats In The Sun 5:30
6.Afternoon On The Nile [2003 remix]7:06
7.Magic Lantern [2003 remix, misspelled Magic Latern]5:08
8.Crane Routing 5:59
9.Tierra Del Fuego 4:24
10.Dome Of Yellow Turtles [2003 remix]5:11
11.Car Dreaming 5:04
Total running time63:50


Recording date1983 - 2003
Recording site(s)Berlin & Vienna & Los Angeles
Recording engineer(s)Edgar Froese, Christian Gstettner
Composer(s)Edgar Froese
Musician(s)Edgar Froese
Producer(s)Edgar Froese


This is the first volume of the Ambient Highway series, which consists of four albums and one compilation. The artwork is virtually identical for all four albums and differs essentially in the colours, the inside photos and a backside painting by Bianca Froese-Acquaye (and the track listings, of course). The 4-page booklet re-uses some artwork previously seen on Sohoman and features a biographic story titled The Strange, Wild and Mystical World of Edgar W. Froese by a certain M.M.K. (an acronym that can easily be resolved when knowing the then current TDI staff).


All in all, the Ambient Highway series is some kind of extended version of the double album Beyond The Storm (1995): with very few exceptions all tracks from that compilation are included in the new series, too, plus a number of previously unreleased tracks. While some of the previously released compositions have been remixed (which in most cases adds to the musical substance of the tracks) a reworking is not perceptible for other tracks. The booklet gives no track specific indication about reworked versions, hence the remarks about remixes in the track listing above originate from the editor's subjective opinion.


Besides two previously unreleased compositions (both included in the compilation album Introduction To The Ambient Highway), Ambient Highway Vol. 1 consists of six partly remixed versions of compositions that had initially been released on the album Beyond The Storm (1995), two tracks (one of them remixed) from the fifth disc of the Tangerine Dream boxed set Tangents (1994; the fifth disc in fact contained mostly solo recordings by Edgar Froese, though the whole box was released under the artist name of Tangerine Dream) and one remixed track originally released on Edgar Froese's solo album Pinnacles (1983) that was included on Beyond The Storm, too.


In January 2007 this release became available as MP3 download at the Tangerine Dream Download Shop.


2003: TDP
2007: Eastgate
Download: complete release or individual tracks as MP3
Copyright/Disclaimer   © 2001-2021 by Michael Berling. Last Update: 2021-09-19 21:31